English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Esperanto French German Hindi Latvian Luxembourgish Malayalam Maltese Norwegian Portuguese Russian Spanish Tajik

Eddie Hall Wins World's Strongest Man 2017

Print Share this

Though the competition took place back in May, the incredible feats of strength are timeless. Coregenx's World Strongest Man 2017 has recently been uploaded to YouTube for all the see. 

It’s been 40 years since Bruce Wilhelm took the first World’s Strongest Man title in 1977, 40 years of blood, sweat and incredible feats. In 2017, they celebrated this momentous event by hosting it in Botswana. The contestants got to visit Gaborone, the capital and one of Botswana’s largest cities. The compeition took place on the 20th to 23rd May with Grand Final 27th & 28th May.

The 30 most powerful men in the world gathered to compete for just 10 places in the final. Everyone thought Brian Shaw and Žydrūnas Savickas would battle it out to be the first to win their fifth 5 WSM title, but Incredible Eddie Hall came in, and tore shit up! Check out what these mere mortals were capable of doing! In what many strongman fans might consider a shocking upset, British athlete Eddie Hallhas beaten his fiercest rivals to claim the 2017 World’s Strongest Man title. Hall’s win marks the first time since 2009 that someone other than Brian Shaw or Zydrunas Savickas has claimed the title.

2017 marks Bjornsson’s sixth straight WSM podium finish. Shaw came into the competition a favorite as the two-time defending champion, with four titles overall. The legendary Zydrunas Savickas — another 4-time winner, competing this season at 41 years old — made a valiant run to the finals but looked somewhat hobbled in the finals, though he performed well in the squat event. Known for his immense static strength, Hall set a world deadlift (equipped + straps) last year at 500kg, though his performance on the more mobile strongman events left some wondering if he could ever catch up to the taller (and presumably faster) Shaw and Bjornsson.