English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Esperanto French German Hindi Latvian Luxembourgish Malayalam Maltese Norwegian Portuguese Russian Spanish Tajik

2022 Olympia Friday Night Results

The biggest weekend in bodybuilding has arrived. Thousands of fans and over 400 IFBB Pro League athletes were ready to find out who would make history and call themselves Olympia champion. The two-night event started with the Friday contests, which included the Mr. Olympia prejudging and six complete contests which saw a blend of new and defending champions crowned.


New Champions

Three divisions would see new titleholders take championships in Las Vegas.

By the end of the 212 prejudging, it was clear the title would go to either 2020 winner Shaun Clarida or 2019 champion Kamal Elgargni which meant that, either way, we would have a two time champ crowned at the Friday night finals. Shaun Clarida pulled ahead to reclaimed his title to win his second 212 title at the 2022 Olympia.

  1. Shaun Clarida
  2. Angel Calderon Frias
  3. Kamal Elgargni
  4. Ahmad Ashkanani
  5. Oleh Kryvyi

After defending Fitness Olympia champion Whitney Jones and four-time winner Oksana Grishina had to withdraw due to a calf injury, the door was wide open for 2020 winner Missy Truscott to reclaim the title she lost one year ago, and she made the most out of the moment. Truscott held off the challenge of Jaclyn Baker to win the title. The top five are as follows.

  1. Missy Truscott
  2. Jaclyn Baker
  3. Ariel Khadr
  4. Sarah Kovach
  5. Michelle Fredua-Mensah

The other title change was a shocker. In the Women’s Physique division, Sarah Villegas was the overwhelming favorite to win her third straight Olympia, but Natalia Abraham Coelho showed up as sliced as ever, and she had that trademark smile of confidence that never wavered. As a result, she finally won her Olympia, and Villegas finished as the runner-up for the second time in her career.

  1. Natalia Abraham Coelho
  2. Sarah Villegas
  3. Brooke Walker
  4. Barbara Menage
  5. Ivie Rhein

Champions That Retained

The Ms. Olympia contest was never in doubt from the moment Andrea Shaw walked out at prejudging. The only question was who was going to be in second place, which turned out to be rising star Angela Yeo. Third place went to Helle Trevino, while the retiring Margie Martin took fourth.

  1. Andrea Shaw
  2. Angela Yeo
  3. Helle Trevino
  4. Margie Martin
  5. Branka Njegovec

Another lock was in Figure, where Cydney Gillon has been untouchable. The five-time champ became the six-time champ, and she now has to use both hands to count her Olympia titles. Gillon swept both prejudging and finals to take the victory. The top five are below, with the surprise being Canada’s Lola Montex taking a top three finish.

  1. Cydney Gillon
  2. Jessica Reyes Padilla
  3. Lola Montez
  4. Jossie Nathali Alarcon Becerra
  5. Natalia Soltero

The second Wellness Olympia will not see a second champion, at least in 2022. Francielle Mattos came, saw, and conquered the main stage to win her second straight Olympia and remain the only champion in the division’s young history. Isabelle Nunes and Angela Borges took silver and bronze, respectively.

  1. Francielle Mattos
  2. Isabelle Nunes
  3. Angela Borges
  4. Kassandra Gillis
  5. Rayane Fogal de Souza Santana


Mr. Olympia Prejudging

The biggest surprise of all may be that we could have a new Mr. Olympia champion. Big Ramy was in the first and last callouts, but he was on the outside looking into the center, which was occupied by Hadi Choopan and 2019 winner Brandon Curry. Joining them in that callout was Derek Lunsford, Samson Dauda, and 2021 Arnold Classic winner Nick Walker. This finish set up an interesting conclusion that will happen on Saturday night, December 17th.

To keep up with the latest fitness industry news and product releases, subscribe to our free newsletter HERE!